It’s Been A While…

25 Aug

I know, I know. I haven’t been very good about updating this blog. I want to throw out some excuses like, “I’ve been really busy” (which isn’t fully true), or “I haven’t had internet…” (ha.. that’s not a very good excuse), or “nothing has been happening” (which is almost never true).  So here I am, updating.

Let me see… the last update I remember… New Year’s! Wow. It has been a while. A lot has happened since then. I think the best way to go about sharing my experiences with you is through pictures, otherwise, this would probably turn into a three page post. So without delaying any longer, here’s a little summary based on a thousand words per picture. 🙂

Training in Hochgurgl, Austria.

Training in Hochgurgl, Austria.

A bit of snow and wind makes great pictures in Austria!

A bit of snow and wind makes for great pictures in Austria!

First World Cup in Europe! Very exciting, and kinda scary!

St. Anton World Cup. First World Cup in Europe! Very exciting, and kinda scary!

Look familiar? This is our other favorite place to train in Europe, Maria Alm, Austria.

Look familiar? This is our other favorite place to train in Europe, Maria Alm, Austria.

Stopped in Vienna on our way to Slovakia. Artsy fartsy (or trying to be at least).

Stopped in Vienna on our way to Slovakia. Artsy fartsy (or trying to be at least).

Another shot from the church in Vienna.

Another shot from the church in Vienna.

We had some beautiful mornings in Slovakia.

We had some beautiful mornings in Slovakia.

We made our way back to North America, to Apex, British Columbia.

We made our way back to North America, to Apex, British Columbia.

Then across the country to Quebec to ski at Le Massif for World Juniors. Stairway to heaven? Thank goodness we didn't have to climb up those this trip.

Then across the country to Quebec to ski at Le Massif for World Juniors. Stairway to heaven? Thank goodness we didn’t have to climb up those this trip.

Two ski racers driving across the country to spend a month in California… we have to bring everything! Duh!

Two ski racers driving across the country to spend a month in California… we have to bring everything! Duh!

Water on the Salt Flats by Salt Lake City, Utah.
Water on the Salt Flats by Salt Lake City, Utah.

Donner Lake is on fire!

Donner Lake is on fire!

Happy, sunny, exciting day in Squaw at NorAm Finals. I scored my lowest score ever!

Happy, sunny, exciting day in Squaw at NorAm Finals. I scored my lowest score ever!

I won the Super-G at NorAm Finals! That was a happy day.

I won the Super-G at NorAm Finals! That was a happy day.

Yea… I don't know about the modeling, but being a passenger in this car was a blast!

Yea… I don’t know about the modeling, but being a passenger in this car was a blast!

That's Lake Tahoe in the distance! What beautiful weather we had a US Nationals in Squaw Valley, CA this year!

That’s Lake Tahoe in the distance! What beautiful weather we had a US Nationals in Squaw Valley, CA this year!

One of my favorite places on earth, Lake Tahoe!

One of my favorite places on earth, Lake Tahoe!

Stopped at my one of my mom's favorite attractions, the Bodie Ghost Town in California.

Stopped at one of my mom’s favorite attractions, the Bodie Ghost Town in California.

Spooky! Off to Mammoth!

Spooky! Off to Mammoth!

So if my calculations are correct that’s 19,000 words! I think that’s sufficient enough. Next time I’ll update you on what’s been happening this summer! Exciting stuff leading up to Olympic year! Thanks for reading… or looking!

2 Responses to “It’s Been A While…”

  1. Liz Levenson October 9, 2013 at 4:46 pm #

    Hi there! I’m with a tv production company in Los Angeles and I’d love to talk to you guys about doing a television show! If you’re interested, could you shoot me an email? I’d love to chat with you! –Liz

  2. Karen Cook February 26, 2014 at 3:14 pm #

    Nice photos Abby – even the artsy ones! Must be nice to see so many parts of the world while training and racing. I hope to see another post soon. Keep believing! – Karen

Leave a Reply

