Pre – Blue Ribbon Alpine Challenge

21 Aug

Hey everyone!

So many of you might know the USA Pro Cycling Challenge has begun its second year in Colorado. It started yesterday (8/20) in Durango, and finished in Telluride. Today they ride from Montrose to Crested Butte. And tomorrow from Gunnison to Aspen.

All of this information you can easily find online, but the reason why I am blogging to you is because there is a bit of information you might have a hard time finding information about. It is called the Blue Ribbon Alpine Challenge. This is a Nation Racing Calendar (NRC) women’s criterium that is hosted in Aspen, right before the men’s race finishes on the same finish line.

I am extremely excited to tell you all my team (Natural Grocers) Margell Abel, Heather Fischer, Nicole Duke and I have been invited to come race along with the fastest professional women’s teams in the world. I will be lining up on the start with women from NOW, Optum, Tibco, Exergy, Vanderkitten, Primal, and Specialized lululemon!

This race unfortunately was reduced from a 3 day stage race last year, to a 60 min criterium, but all I can say is I am still glad there is a women’s race. Below is an article about the race. My favorite quote from Alison Powers “They get to see women’s racing like, ‘Oh, wow, this is really cool,’ and realize that we don’t just stop and braid each other’s hair all the time,”.

If you are as excited as I am, come out and watch me race!!! Here is a link ( aspenwomensprostagerace.aspx ) to the website where you can get all the information.

I will update you all after I have successfully finished this race and my nerves aren’t through the roof, as they are right now.

Wish me luck!!

article-9471-ladies-first-ahead-of-usa-pro-cycling-challenge.html

Leave a Reply

